Parul Online MA is a two-year postgraduate online degree from Parul University in Vadodara, Gujarat. The university holds a NAAC A++ grade. You choose English Language Teaching (ELT) or Journalism and Mass Communication (JMC). This guide gives you the numbers, the trade-offs, and the exact questions to ask admissions. It covers fees, eligibility, 2026–27 admission steps, syllabus themes, careers, and recognition checks.
Parul Online MA at a Glance
Read this snapshot first.
Detail | Parul Online MA |
University | Parul University, Vadodara, Gujarat (private, NAAC A++) |
Program | Online Master of Arts (MA) |
Specializations | English Language Teaching; Journalism and Mass Communication |
Delivery | 100% online: live classes, recordings, online AI-proctored exams |
Duration | 2 years (4 semesters); up to 4 years allowed |
Fee | ₹60,000 in Parul's UGC-required program details (₹15,000 × 4); Parul also advertises ₹16,500 per semester and a ₹42,000 lump sum |
Eligibility | Any bachelor's degree with 50% marks (45% for reserved category) |
Entrance exam | None; Parul admits on merit |
Age limit | None |
Intake | January intake; Parul shows no closing date |
Recognition | NAAC A++; Parul describes itself as UGC-entitled |
Parul University Online MA: Course Overview
Parul University runs the Parul Online MA through its Centre for Distance and Online Education. The course lasts two years and four semesters. You study on a learning management system (LMS). The LMS offers live classes, recordings, discussion forums, a digital library, and online exams. Recordings let you catch up after a missed session.
The degree has the same standing as a campus MA under UGC's 2020 online-program rules. Regulation 22 sets that equivalence. Parul holds NAAC A++ and calls itself UGC-entitled. You still must check the entitlement letters for your intake year.
Four groups gain the most. Working graduates want a postgraduate degree without quitting a job. English teachers want pedagogy training. Aspiring journalists want reporting and editing practice. Comparison shoppers want clear fees and rules. Parul sets no age limit.
This guide covers only the online MA. Parul also lists MA Clinical Psychology in its program details, but this guide covers ELT and JMC only. No degree guarantees a job, so this guide describes career pathways, not promises.
Parul Online MA Specializations
Pick your specialization by job goal, not interest alone.
MA English Language Teaching (MA ELT)
MA ELT trains you to teach English. You study teaching methodology, second-language acquisition, materials design, curriculum planning, and learner assessment. Parul says the course blends linguistic theory with practical methods.
Who fits: English graduates, school teachers, and corporate trainers. Example: a trainer who runs 20-person batches learns lesson planning and assessment design. Those skills transfer directly.
MA Journalism and Mass Communication (MA JMC)
MA JMC trains you to report and produce media. You study news reporting, writing, and editing. You also study mass communication theory, digital journalism, media research, and media ethics. Parul says projects cover print, broadcast, and digital content.
Who fits: graduates entering newsrooms, digital publishers, PR agencies, or brand content teams. Working reporters also fit, because the course adds theory and research skills.
Choosing Between Them
Use this quick test. Open three job ads for your target role. List the required skills. Match that list against each specialization's papers. Pick the course that covers more. Parul names no required undergraduate subject for either course, so any bachelor's degree qualifies.
MA English Language Teaching | MA Journalism and Mass Communication | |
Focus | How people teach and learn English | How journalists research, write, produce, and analyze media |
Core topics | Teaching methodology, language acquisition, materials design, assessment | News reporting, editing, mass communication theory, digital journalism, media ethics |
Best for | English graduates, teachers, language trainers | Aspiring journalists, content and PR professionals, working media staff |
Add-on credentials | BEd, CTET or state TET, CELTA or TEFL | Bylined portfolio, internships |
Fee and eligibility | ₹60,000 published; any bachelor's degree at 50% | ₹60,000 published; any bachelor's degree at 50% |
Parul Online MA Fees 2026–27
Parul's UGC-required program details list ₹60,000 for both specializations. That equals ₹15,000 per semester over four semesters. Parul updated those details in July 2026. Treat this figure as your baseline.
Parul also advertises ₹16,500 per semester. Four semesters cost ₹66,000. That is ₹6,000 above the baseline. The same ₹16,500 appears for MCom, MSc, and MSW. A separate listing shows a ₹42,000 lump sum with EMI options.
Do the arithmetic. ₹42,000 equals ₹60,000 minus 30%. Parul also advertises a 30% scholarship for a dual-degree option. The match may be a coincidence, or the lump sum may include that discount.
Budget ₹60,000 as the baseline and ₹66,000 as the ceiling for tuition. The ₹42,000 lump sum, if it applies, cuts the baseline by ₹18,000. Ignore the ₹10,000 per semester banner from July 2024. It belonged to an earlier cycle.
Fee figure | Source | Total over four semesters | Difference from ₹60,000 baseline |
₹15,000 per semester | Parul's UGC-required program details, July 2026 | ₹60,000 | Baseline |
₹16,500 per semester | Parul's advertised rate, also shown for MCom, MSc, MSW | ₹66,000 | +₹6,000 |
₹42,000 lump sum | One-time payment listing with EMI options | ₹42,000 | −₹18,000 (30%) |
₹10,000 per semester | Promotional banner, July 2024 intake | ₹40,000 | Expired offer; ignore |
How to check your real cost
Your total cost has seven parts:
Tuition per semester, multiplied by four semesters.
Any one-time registration or admission fee.
Examination fees, and whether Parul includes them.
Re-examination or backlog charges, which matter if you use the fourth year.
Any charge for the degree certificate or courier delivery.
Confirmed scholarships or concessions.
Interest or processing charges on an EMI plan.
Use this formula: total cost = semester fee × 4 + one-time fees + exam fees + other mandatory charges − confirmed concessions.
Illustrative example: ₹60,000 tuition, ₹2,000 registration, and ₹1,500 exam fee per semester total ₹68,000. Those add-on figures are placeholders, not Parul's charges.
Compare any EMI plan against the lump sum. Subtract the lump sum from the EMI total. The result is your financing cost. Add any processing fee to it.
Parul advertises a 30% scholarship tied to a dual-degree option. The option is a PG Diploma in Digital and Social Media Marketing. At 30% of ₹60,000, the discount equals ₹18,000. Parul also lists two free add-ons: a ChatGPT certification and Excel for Beginners.
Parul Online MA Eligibility Criteria
You need a bachelor's degree from a recognized university. Any discipline qualifies. You need 50% marks. Reserved-category applicants need 45%. Parul sets no age limit. Parul runs no entrance exam. It admits on merit, using your undergraduate marks.
Edge cases decide real applications. Parul states the cutoff as 50% (45% reserved). Parul does not state its rounding rule, its CGPA-to-percentage formula, or whether it counts aggregate or final-year marks. Foreign degrees must come from a recognized university.
Parul states no required undergraduate subject for ELT or JMC. A science or engineering graduate meets the same rule as an English graduate.
Requirement | Parul's rule |
Qualification | Any bachelor's degree from a recognized university |
Minimum marks | 50% (45% for reserved category) |
Specific undergraduate subject | None stated for ELT or JMC |
Age limit | None |
Entrance exam | None; Parul admits on merit |
Work experience | Not required |
Provisional admission for final-year students | Not stated |
Marks rounding and CGPA conversion | Not stated |
Parul Online MA Admission 2026: Process, Documents and Dates
Parul admits online on merit. Follow these four steps:
Open the university's online admission portal.
Fill in your primary information.
Choose your program: Master of Arts, then ELT or JMC.
Register for the program you chose.
Upload scanned copies of five original documents:
Aadhaar ID card
Photograph
10th class certificate
12th class certificate
Graduation degree
Prepare before you apply. Scan each document in colour. Check that your name matches across all five. After verification, Parul emails your enrolment details and LMS credentials.
Never pay outside the university's own channels. CourseConnect gives information. Only the university grants admission.
Parul Online MA Duration and Semester Structure
The course runs four semesters over two years. Parul allows up to four years. That buffer helps if work or family interrupts you.
Parul splits assessment into 30% continuous evaluation and 70% end-semester exams. Exams run online with AI proctoring. You sit them from home.
Prepare your exam set-up early. Use a laptop with a working webcam. Keep a backup device and a mobile hotspot ready. Parul asks for an internet of at least 1 Mbps.
Parul expects 75% attendance in activities. It also calls live sessions not compulsory. Example: a semester with 40 live sessions needs 30 attended. You could miss ten. Parul publishes no session counts.
Feature | Detail |
Program length | 2 years, 4 semesters |
Maximum time to finish | 4 years |
Assessment | 30% continuous evaluation, 70% end-semester exams |
Exams | Online, AI-proctored, from any location; no physical centres listed |
Attendance | Minimum 75% in activities |
Projects | Included |
Credits | Set in Parul's program-structure file for each specialization |
Plan fixed study blocks. Book two evening slots each week. Protect them like meetings. Continuous evaluation counts for 30%, so steady work beats last-month cramming.
Parul Online MA Syllabus
The papers below come from Parul's published course structure. ELT lists 27 papers across four semesters. JMC lists 25. Both end with a Dissertation and an Internship in Semester 4. Both include Employability Skills I and II.
MA ELT semester-wise papers
Semester | Core papers | Electives and options |
1 | History of English in India; Basic Concepts of English Language Teaching; English for Specific Purposes; Technology-Assisted Language Learning; Fiction and Non-fiction in English Literature; Employability Skills I | Ability Enhancement Course I: German 1, French 1, or English 1 (Building Communicative Competence) |
2 | History of ELT in India; Approaches and Methods in Language Teaching; Teaching Language Through Literature; Language Development with Web Tools; Designing Materials for Teaching Grammar; Employability Skills II | Ability Enhancement Course II: German, French, or English 2 (Enhancing Academic and Professional Communication) |
3 | Research Methodology; Course Design and Material Production; Teaching Language Skills (LSRW); English Language Skills for Academic Purposes; Academic Writing; Mini Project | Elective 1: Teaching Poetry or Authentic Materials |
4 | Dissertation; Internship; Drama in English Literature; Fundamental Considerations in Language Assessment; Professional Communication | Elective 2: Literary Theory or Developing Material for ELT |
What ELT learners study in Semesters 1 and 2
Basic Concepts of English Language Teaching: Krashen's five hypotheses of second-language acquisition, code-switching, and Lingua Franca Core.
English for Specific Purposes: needs analysis, ESP course design, and two published case studies.
Technology-Assisted Language Learning: TALL versus CALL, Google Classroom, Audacity, Hot Potatoes, and Google Forms.
Fiction and Non-fiction in English Literature: A Tale of Two Cities, Jane Eyre, The Diary of Samuel Pepys, and Mahasweta Devi's Draupadi.
History of English in India: Macaulay's Minute, Wood's Dispatch of 1854, Kachru's Three Circles of English, Gitanjali, and Train to Pakistan.
Approaches and Methods in Language Teaching: Grammar-Translation, Direct Method, Audio-lingual, Total Physical Response, Silent Way, task-based teaching, and post-method pedagogy.
Language Development with Web Tools: Web 1.0 to 3.0, podcasts, blogs, wikis, and Flubaroo.
Designing Materials for Teaching Grammar: tenses, modals, Chomsky's Universal Grammar, and error versus mistake.
Employability Skills II: mock interviews, LinkedIn networking, negotiation, and SMART career goals.
ELT learners can turn these papers into proof of skill. Build a lesson plan, a grammar worksheet, and an assessment rubric.
MA JMC semester-wise papers
Semester | Core papers | Electives and options |
1 | Introduction to Media and Communication; Reporting and Editing; Print Journalism; Digital Media; Graphic Design I; Media Ethics and Laws; Employability Skills I | None |
2 | Communication for Development; Professional Photography; Broadcast Journalism; Advertising; Communication Theories and Practices; Graphic Design II; Employability Skills II | None |
3 | Research Methodology; TV and Studio Production; Media Management; Public Relations | Core Elective I: Mobile Journalism (Mojo) or Data Journalism |
4 | Digital Marketing; Film Studies; Dissertation; Audio Visual Production; Internship | Core Elective II: Film Making or Folk Media and Theatre |
JMC leans practical. It adds photography, graphic design, studio production, and film. Plan for a camera, editing software, and a design tool. File your Semester 4 dissertation and internship work into a portfolio.
Online Learning Experience at Parul University
Parul teaches on an LMS. You get live classes, recordings, discussion forums, and a digital library. You need no textbooks. Some materials download for offline study. Each learner gets an academic mentor and a technical mentor. Use the technical mentor before your first exam. Run a mock login and a webcam test.
Use recordings wisely. Attend the live session when you can. Ask questions in the forum. Use the recording to revise before exams.
Parul couriers the degree to your address. It issues marksheets digitally in encrypted form. The certificate states the mode of delivery, per UGC rules.
A 14:1 student-faculty ratio appears online for Parul University overall. Parul publishes no ratio for the online MA. Parul names faculty such as Dr. Prasanta Chatterjee Biswas, a professor, and Dr. Ashish Bhatt, a program head.
Online study rewards planners. If you need fixed timetables, rely on live sessions and mentors. If you manage time well, enjoy the flexibility.
Career Opportunities After Parul Online MA
Parul names five career paths. They are lecturer and professor, researcher, research associate, PR specialist, and policy analyst. Each path has its own entry rules. Assistant professor posts usually need UGC NET, SET, or a PhD. Start NET preparation in your second year if academia is your goal.
After MA ELT, realistic directions include:
English language and communication-skills training
Curriculum, content, and assessment development for education companies
Corporate language training
Teaching or academic support roles, subject to each role's qualification rules
After MA JMC, realistic directions include:
Reporting, sub-editing, and content writing
Digital journalism and content strategy
Public relations and corporate communication
Media research
Parul claims training and placement assistance. It lists resume building, career development, job-opening access, and 700+ industry collaborations. Treat this as support, not a job guarantee. Parul publishes no placement rate, recruiter list, or salary data for the online MA. A third-party portal shows a ₹18 lakh maximum package. That figure covers the whole university.
Work while you study. Teachers should log teaching hours. Journalists should publish regularly. Employers weigh proof over the degree.
Parul University Online MA Recognition and Degree Validity
Parul holds a NAAC A++ grade and describes itself as UGC-entitled. Parul files the disclosures that UGC's 2020 online-program regulations require. They cover its UGC-DEB application, regulatory letters, program fees, syllabus, faculty lists, and exam details. UGC also issued a public notice on 19 March 2024 on precautions before enrolling in online programs.
Layer | What it means | Parul's status |
Institutional accreditation | NAAC assesses the whole institution | A++ grade |
UGC-DEB entitlement | The UGC permits the university to offer programs online | Parul describes itself as UGC-entitled |
Program-specific entitlement | The UGC grants entitlement program by program, sometimes for limited periods | Parul lists MA ELT and MA JMC in its online program details, updated July 2026 |
Professional eligibility | Employers and regulators set their own rules | BEd, CTET or state TET, and NET sit outside the MA |
Parul quotes UGC Regulation 22. It says online degrees from recognized institutions equal conventional degrees. Parul also quotes Regulation 23(2). It says an admission made during a recognition period stays valid until you finish. Edge case: if entitlement lapses after you enroll, Regulation 23(2) keeps your admission recognized until you finish.
Parul says employers and exam bodies accept its online degrees for UPSC, PhD admission, and government jobs. Treat that as a claim. Each recruiter sets its own rules. Read the recruiter's notification before you enroll. A valid MA does not replace a BEd, NET, or CTET.
Parul Online MA vs Other Universities
Use the same checklist for every provider.
Criterion | What to check | Parul Online MA |
Total cost | Every fee across four semesters, in writing | ₹60,000 published; ₹16,500 per semester and ₹42,000 lump sum also advertised |
Specializations | Whether they match your goal | English Language Teaching; Journalism and Mass Communication |
Eligibility | Minimum marks and subject limits | Any bachelor's degree at 50% (45% reserved); no age limit |
Entrance exam | Any test or interview | None; merit-based |
Syllabus load | Papers per course | ELT 27 papers; JMC 25 papers |
Delivery | Live classes, recordings, platform quality | Live and recorded sessions, forums, mentors |
Exams | Online or at a centre | Online, AI-proctored, from home |
Recognition | Current UGC-DEB entitlement for the exact program | NAAC A++; UGC-entitled by Parul's description |
Support | Placement help, mentors | Placement assistance claimed; no outcome data published |
Policies | Refund, withdrawal, scholarship terms | Parul publishes no refund or withdrawal rules; one 30% dual-degree scholarship |
Parul admits any bachelor's degree at 50%. Some providers require a related degree. That filter can mean a more focused cohort.
Final Word
Parul Online MA suits working graduates who want an ELT or JMC degree. Its strengths: no entrance exam, a 50% cutoff, a two-year structure with a four-year buffer, and AI-proctored exams from home. Budget ₹60,000 to ₹66,000 for tuition.
Talk to our Career Companion




